News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/13/2011 8:29:56 AM to 12/22/2011 12:05:01 AM.

News Flash

City News and Announcements

Posted on: December 13, 2011

[ARCHIVED] Second class of Community Emergency Response Team volunteers graduate

CENTRAL JACKSON COUNTY, Mo. – On Thursday, December 15, the Central Jackson County Emergency Management Agency (CJCEMA) will graduate 24 Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) volunteers. The ceremony will take place at 6:30 p.m. at the Central Jackson County Fire Protection District’s Training Center, 4715 W. Highway 40, Blue Springs, Mo.
The volunteers undergo a 14-week training program in disaster preparedness and basic emergency response skills. With this latest graduation, the CJCEMA now has more than 50 active CERT volunteers.

“The Community Emergency Response Team members have shown a great dedication to their community by volunteering to be a part of this valuable program,” said Todd Farley, CJCEMA Emergency Management Director. “The CERT program is all about neighbors helping neighbors and these volunteers have received specialized training to assist first responders during critical events, ranging from missing persons to natural disasters. I know when their community needs them; they will be there to help.”

The CERT volunteers participate in a training program developed by FEMA and taught by personnel from the Blue Springs Police Department and the Central Jackson County Fire Protection District. After completing training that includes lessons in fire safety, search and rescue, first aid/CPR and disaster and medical operations, CERTs support their local communities by assisting City agencies that prepare for and respond to disasters. CERT volunteers also work to educate their communities about emergency preparedness through the CJCEMA coverage area.

CERT training is available at no cost for residents of Blue Springs, Grain Valley and Lake Tapawingo. For more information about the CERT program, or if you are interested in becoming a CERT volunteer, contact Sgt. Allen Kintz or Ed “Doc” Golden at (816) 228-0178.

The CJCEMA is an emergency management agency consisting of the Central Jackson County Fire Protection District, the City of Blue Springs, Grain Valley, LakeTapawingo and surrounding unincorporated areas. The EOC is located at the Central Jackson County Fire Protection District’s Training Center and brings together representatives from Police, Fire, Public Works and Emergency Management agencies.


Follow us on Twitter at or become "fans" of our Facebook page at

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City News and Announcements



Posted on: January 31, 2024

CDBG Sidewalk Project Open House

Posted on: January 19, 2024

City Code Amended Trash Ordinance

Posted on: December 7, 2023

City of Blue Springs

Posted on: September 21, 2023