Appearance Review Committee


The Appearance Review Committee is responsible for review of application for site plan design review applications within the Adams Dairy Parkway Overlay (ADP-O) zoning district makes recommendations to the Mayor and City Council. Committee review shall not be required for single-family detached and duplex residential structures or for alterations and repairs not affecting the outward appearance of a building or site.

Established by Municipal Code Section 402.040

On April 18, 2022 the City Council adopted Rules of Procedure for each of the City's Boards and Commissions.  The Rules of Procedure for the Appearance Review Committee can be viewed here. Rules of Procedure On-Call Boards


Meetings of the Appearance Review Committee are held on a periodic basis based on complete submittal and review of applications and at such other times as the Appearance Review Committee may determine, typically held on weekday mornings approximately one to three times per year.


The Appearance Review Committee is comprised of three members who serve three-year terms and are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. Members must be residents of Blue Springs and familiar with or experienced in matters of aesthetic judgment.

Board Members
Term Expires
David Smith - Chair 2023 2024
Bob Frost - Vice Chair 2023 2024
Bob Frost 2023 2026
David Smith 2023 2026
Alan Ware 2022 2025