Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the Mayor and City Council, the Planning Commission and the Zoning Administrator. The Board protects and enhances the City's architectural cultural, and social history, safeguarding that heritage and promotes the use of historic districts or landmarks as educational and cultural resources for the City.

Established by Municipal Code Section 402.050.


Meetings of Historic Preservation Commission are held on the second Wednesday of each month on an as-needed basis, in the City Hall Administration Conference Room.
The Commission is comprised of 9 members, seven of the members are appointed by the Mayor with support of the City Council. All members should have demonstrated an interest and knowledge of history, architecture or preservation. In addition, every effort is made to appoint members with the following additional qualifications although the absence of a member with such qualifications shall not invalidate any action taken by the Commission:

a.  One (1) member who is an architect who has professional experience in restoration or historic preservation.
b.  One (1) member who is a member of the Blue Springs Historical Society.
c.  One (1) member who is a property owner in an existing or proposed Historic District or Conservation District.
d.  One (1) member who is a merchant in an existing or proposed Historic District or Conservation District.

The remaining 2 members are representatives of the Planning Commission and City Council. Members serve a 4-year term.

Board Members
Term Expires
Pam Albarelli May 2014 April 2018
Chris Birkenmaier, Vice Chairman May 2017 April 2018
Kay Burrus May 2016 April 2020
Riley Burrus Sr. May 2017 April 2021
Mary Potter May 2016 April 2020
Frances Hose, Chairman May 2017 April 2021
Vacant May 2014 April 2018
Chris Lievsay, Councilman May 2017 April 2018
Ken Billups, Jr., Planning Comm. Rep. May 2017 May 2021