Mayor & Council

The city of Blue Springs has a Mayor-Council-Administrator form of government as set forth in the Home Rule City Charter.

City Council

The City Council it comprised of 6 members, 2 from each of the 3 districts. Council members serve staggered 3-year terms and are responsible for determining policy, enacting ordinances, and authorizing expenditures.
2019-2020 Blue Springs City Council
The mayor is elected at-large for a 4-year term. The responsibilities of the mayor include:
  • Serving as the chief executive officer of the city
  • Attending, voting and presiding over City Council meetings
  • Appointing members of various Boards and Commissions
Term Expires 
Mayor Carson Ross  April 2016 April 2020
Galen Ericson (District 1) April 2019 April 2022
Jerry Kaylor (District 1) April 2017 April 2020
Kent Edmondson (District 2)  April 2017 April 2020
Chris Lievsay (District 2)   April 2019 April 2022
Susan Culpepper (District 3)  April 2019 April 2022
Ron Fowler (District 3) Mayor Pro Tem April 2017 April 2020